Australian Birds of Prey Use Self-Taught Fire-Hunting Techniques

What was once considered native mythology of 'firehawks', three and likely more species of Australian raptors actively use fire-hunting techniques that were possibly learnt by observing human behaviour over the last 50,000 years. The certified scientific discovery of ostensibly wild 'firehawks' once considered mythology will without training acquire smouldering twigs from human and lightning started fires to start grassfires, driving prey out of dense fields and using the heated air to perform aerial manoeuvres to catch prey and evade the flames.

Moreover, they seem to have an active understanding of the dynamics of fire--actively moving embers and burning material past natural boundaries to maintain their fire-hunting of animals. Representing complex social reinforcement of fire-hunting techniques and community orientation.

The discovery of not one species, but multiples, of seemingly self-taught fire-hunters and fire-hunting behaviour brings up interesting questions ranging from climate change and possible ranging zones further south, to pest control, fire management, animal intelligence, evolution, and ethnobiology.

https://www.livescience.com/61375-fire-spreading-raptors.html

So it's those birds that have been starting all the fires?

I KNEW IT!

Hawki:
So it's those birds that have been starting all the fires?

I KNEW IT!

Yep, turns out the 50,000 year old conspiracy theory is true. More frightening is they themselves understand how fire works. Actively moving burning materials to start new fires to catch and kill more (and now possibly larger) prey easier.

What's really cool is we're seeing collectives of otherwise competing birds mutualistically benefitting from a pseudo-industrial use of resources and fairly (all things considered) complex land management behaviour.

From birds.