A Stranger's music :: #46 Lemetre, Antlers and more Radiohead [video reviews]

Pages 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 NEXT

Any comments or suggestions are more than welcome.

A Stranger Presents...

A Stranger's Music

and every now and again, other peoples' too.

Well hello there! I've been preaching writing about various albums and bands for a while now and it has come to my attention that there are a few people who are interested (the large majority aren't) so I thought I'd make it easier for those few people and write all my little musings in one, easy to find thread. I'll be adding a new review every -whenever I feel like it- so be sure to check back in a week or so if you enjoy what you see, be sure to leave any comments, queries or suggestions. Happy? Good let's move on to the first one.

Reservoir by Fanfarlo

Genre = Alternative Rock/ Folk

Number of songs = 12

Highlights = I'm a Pilot + Finish Line

This particular album got off to a rocky start for me, I had been told by the internet that it was one of the best albums of 2009 but all I could hear in the first moments of the opening song I'm a Pilot was the steady stamping of dozens of feet. Then the rather pub sounding piano kicks in along with the singers rather gruff but pleasant to listen to voice. As some of you will have noticed I've written that I'm a Pilot is one of the highlights of this album and that is because of one simple reason; as soon as the chorus kicked in with " Okay, I'm a Pilot, it's all I believe in" so does the orchestra which really helps to elevate the song into one that you could happily listen to for hours.